Wednesday, September 04, 2019

Airports Authority of India declares 20 more airports single-use plastic free

Mumbai: The Airports Authority of India (AAI) has declared 20 more airports single-use plastic free. As many as 55 Indian airports are single-use plastic free now.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, during his Independence Day speech, had urged citizens to avoid using plastic bags and rid themselves of the habit of using single-use plastic bags by October 2, 2019.

Acting upon the PM Modi's clarion call and as per the directions issued by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change to beat plastic pollution, 35 AAI airports namely Agartala, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Calicut, Chandigarh, Chennai, Coimbatore, Dehradun, Goa, Guwahati, Imphal, Indore, Jaipur, Jammu, Kolkata, Lucknow, Madurai, Mangalore, Patna, Port Blair, Pune, Raipur, Ranchi, Srinagar, Tiruchirappalli, Tirupati, Trivandrum, Udaipur, Vadodara, Varanasi, Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam had been declared 'Single-Use Plastic Free Airport Terminals' in Phase I.

As part of the initiatives towards environment protection, a commitment was made by the AAI for making 20 additional AAI Airports as 'Single Use Plastic Free Airport Terminals' within 100 days after formation of the new government.
On the basis of third-party assessment carried out by the Quality Council of India, 20 more AAI airports namely Allahabad, Aurangabad, Belgaum, Bhuj, Dibrugarh, Dimapur, Gaya, Gorakhpur, Jabalpur, Jamnagar, Jodhpur, Jorhat, Kangra, Khajuraho, Leh, Rajahmundry, Rajkot, Silchar, Surat and Tuticorin in Phase II have been declared 'Single-Use Plastic Free Airport Terminals' on August 30, 2019.
04/09/19 Pankaj Upadhyay/India Today
To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment