Thursday, January 30, 2020

Kunal Kamra flight ban: What gets you on a 'No-Fly' List

With four Indian airlines banning stand-up comic Kunal Kamra from flying with them for allegedly heckling journalist Arnab Goswami onboard an IndiGo plane, aviation regulator DGCA said the action by the carriers is in complete consonance with its regulations.

While SpiceJet, Air India and GoAir have banned Kamra 'till further notice', IndiGo has suspended Kamra from flying with it for six months.

One of the key questions to be asked at this point is whether the six-month flight ban imposed on Kamra by airline IndiGo, on whose flight the incident occurred, is valid or not.

In 2017, DGCA laid down rules for putting passengers on a No-Fly List. The rules, notified on 8 September, 2017, under the Civil Aviation Requirements, Section 3, Air Transport Series M Part VI focus on the handling of unruly passengers.

The clamour for a no-fly list became louder after several incidents of violence on board aircraft. In March, MP Ravindra Gaikwad was in the news for assaulting an Air India employee. Months later, another MP Diwakar Reddy created a ruckus at the airport after being refused boarding at Visakhapatnam airport.

Read what could put you on a no-fly list? and what are the procedures to include one in the list >>

To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment