Saturday, July 04, 2020

Kolkata to have no flights from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai, Ahmedabad between July 6-19

New Delhi: In a bid to prevent a further surge in corona cases, Kolkata will not allow passengers on flights from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai and Ahmedabad from July 6 to July 19, 2020, or till further orders, whichever is earlier. The Kolkata airport slot allocation team issued this directive after getting an order from the aviation ministry, which in turn was heeding to a request from the state government.

“The restriction is for arriving flights (from these cities). Regarding departures, it is upto the airlines,” said an official at Kolkata airport.

On an average, Kolkata gets 10 flights daily from Delhi; five each from Mumbai and Chennai; two each from Ahmedabad and Pune and 1 from Nagpur. So this move will impact about 25 arrivals and as many departures daily. In all, Kolkata handles 60-65 domestic flights per day to and from all over India.

Meanwhile, airlines are yet to decide whether they will give refunds to passengers of affected flights or keep the money in a shell for future travel. Air India currently has two flights a day to Delhi and one each to Mumbai and Chennai.
04/07/20 Saurabh Sinha/Times of India
To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment