Saturday, August 29, 2020

Flights to Kolkata from six cities set to resume

New Delhi: As states continue to ease restrictions on domestic travel, flights to Kolkata airport from Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Pune and Nagpur have been permitted to operate from September 1, although in a limited manner.
Responding to the West Bengal government’s request to curtail flights to the state, the Ministry of Civil Aviation had asked airlines to suspend flights to Kolkata from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai and Ahmedabad — all cities with high Covid-19 caseload — with effect from July 6.
The flights have remained suspended since then. This was the first time since the resumption of domestic flights on May 25 that a state decided to completely curtail incoming flight movements to manage the spread of Covid-19. Initially, the flights were suspended for two weeks but the ban was later extended.
Even as airlines are yet to announce their schedules from these six cities to Kolkata, the government has permitted airlines to operate flights on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays for the first two weeks of September. For the third and fourth week of the month, flights will be operated on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Almost all major airlines, including IndiGo, SpiceJet, Vistara, Air India and GoAir, connected Kolkata to these six airports prior to the ban.
29/08/20 Pranav Mukul/Indian Express
To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment