Friday, October 02, 2020

India Adds New Travel Bubble Countries Including Japan

India has now signed travel bubble agreements with 16 countries, including Japan. India has resisted resuming scheduled international flights, relying instead on bilateral travel agreements. So how do these bubbles work and where can you fly now?

India launched its travel bubble agreement in July, after growing pressure to allow foreign carriers into the country. Since it’s launch with just three countries in July (US, France, and UAE), India has been steadily signing more agreements. These flights have been vital in allowing thousands of Indian and foreign citizens to travel after months of only limited repatriation flights.

Under the travel bubble, Indian and foreign carriers can fly between the two countries, carrying eligible passengers (usually citizens or residents of those countries). India has had a ban on all scheduled international flights since March, which means these flights are temporary and subject to government approval on both sides.

As mentioned, 16 agreements are in place with the following countries:

South Asia: Afghanistan, Bhutan, and the Maldives

Middle East: UAE, Bahrain, Qatar, Iraq, and Oman

Africa: Kenya and Nigeria

Europe: France, UK, Germany (temporarily suspended)

North America: USA and Canada

East Asia: Japan

To reach any countries outside of this list, passengers will have to look out for Air India’s Vande Bharat flights. These tend to be in short supply due to the high demand, so passengers must be ready to book on the day tickets are released.

02/10/20 Pranjal Pande/Simple Flying

To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment