Sunday, November 28, 2021

Passengers from 'at risk' countries will have to undergo RT-PCR test on arrival in Delhi

New Delhi: In wake of Omicron variant, Delhi’s IGI Airport has from Sunday morning started conducting RT-PCR tests on all arrivals from the 12 areas designated as high risk countries — countries in Europe including UK, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

Arrivals from three Omicron hotspots — South Africa, Zimbabwe and Hong Kong — will be required to wait at the airport for their test report and only those found negative will be allowed to leave, say sources. Those testing positive will be sent to designated Covid centres.

Arrivals from other at risk countries will be allowed to leave after their sample and the result will be conveyed to them electronically, with the same protocol for those testing positive or negative.

The government on Sunday morning is learnt to have conducted a review of travel rules after the new mutant has been found in Southern Africa and subsequently in some other parts of the world, including the UK.

Many countries have started imposing new restrictions or test rules which mainly include suspending flights to southern Africa for some period. UK, for instance, has changed testing and isolation rules for all arrivals starting November 30, 4 am (local time). All international arrivals to the UK will need to take a Day 2 PCR test and self-isolate until they receive a negative test.

28/11/21 Saurabh Sinha/Times of India

To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment