Thursday, December 02, 2021

Omicron: Scindia Speaks On Resumption Of Flights, Says 11 Nations Categorised As 'at Risk'

Union Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia on Thursday addressed the Lok Sabha amid rising concerns over the novel Omicron variant of COVID-19. Scindia informed that India currently has a travel bubble agreement with 31 countries while a proposal has been sent to additional ten countries for starting an air-bubble. Scindia remarked that India has also ensured growth in the 31 countries where it maintains an air-bubble. 

The Aviation Minister further added that India has placed 11 countries in 'at risk' category. In addition, he also informed that passengers coming to India from these 11 countries will be immediately tested. The 11 countries are United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, China, Israel and Hong Kong. 

"We have kept a time period of 15 days, they will have to home quarantine for seven days and conduct a test on the eighth day. After that they will have to be monitored for the next seven days," said Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Scindia further added that checking of passengers travelling from the 11 countries has commenced from Wednesday. He has affirmed that the Government of India has made preparations on a war footing. As for the measures undertaken, Scindia informed the Lok Sabha that passengers from the 11 'at risk' countries land at 11 different airports in India where RT-PCR and Rapid RT-PCR testing has been enabled.


To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment