Monday, October 03, 2016

Satish Sharma's long term as Aero Club of India chief ends

New Delhi: Captain Atul Deo has been elected the new president of Aero Club of India bringing to an end the Gandhi family loyalist Satish Sharma's over three decades long innings as the head of the apex body of private and government flying clubs which train students to become commercial pilots.

Capt Pankul Mathur was elected vice president at the Annual General Meeting held on Friday, while Anisha Suresh will be the new secretary general. The elections were unanimous.

Prior to Sharma, ACI presidency was held by former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi who handed over the mantle to his long time aide after becoming PM.

Reacting to the development, Minister of State for Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha said," Democratic processes had long been thwarted at the ACI and these have just been restored."

He said the elections were held in police presence and a Joint Director at the aviation regulator Directorate General Civil Aviation, Lalit Gupta, oversaw the proceedings as a representative of the government.
02/10/16 PTI/Business Standard
To Read the News in full at Source, Click the Headline


Post a Comment