Friday, August 24, 2018

India adds Qatar to list of countries eligible for e-visa

Doha: India has added Qatar to the list of countries eligible for e-visa facility, currently given to passport holders of some 167 countries/territories.
This facility is in addition to the existing visa services being provided by the Embassy of India in Doha, the mission said on Thursday.
Indian embassy said e-visas are issued on the basis of an online application and do not require the application to be submitted physically at the embassy or a visa-sticker to be affixed on the passport by the embassy.
Indian embassy said, “It needs to be noted that this facility is not the same as visa-on-arrival, as the entry into India is subject to prior clearance in the form of the ETA. Travellers who arrive in India without the ETA will not be allowed entry under this facility.”
e-visa is valid for entry through 25 designated airports (Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Kozhikode, Chennai, Chandigarh, Kochi, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Tiruchirapalli, Thiruvananthapuram, Varanasi and Vishakhapatnam) and five designated seaports (Kochi, Goa, Mangalore, Mumbai and Chennai).
23/08/18 Gulf Times